Number of Posts: 3
[0.00% of all post / 0.00 posts per day]
  Last 10 Posts
Topic: Esperanto?
Posted: Saturday, July 25, 2009 7:51:16 PM

Samuel said:

>English is enjoying the status of Lingua franca
>If you think Esperanto will still flourish

They are 2 different languages. Both are very useful. I studied and learned both. It took me a couple of months since I "discovered" Esperanto until I started to speak it. I needed many, many years to reach that level in English, even after I moved to New York City.

I was practicing English many more hours that I was using Esperanto. Reading was enough practice for Esperanto. After being able to understand well "The New York Times", it took me years to learn to listen to English.

When traveling, English is very useful to help arrange more traveling, hotels, tours, even some restaurants. Esperanto works better if you want to make friends, be invited to dinner, or stay overnight at the house of local people, and being accompanied to tour their towns. always speaking at the same level.

It is very frustrating when one person speaks at the level that can be acquired by learning a foreign language, with somebody that has spoken English from birth.

Please learn a little bit more about Esperanto.
You can start at

http://esperantofre.com

Please write to me. If you click my name "Enrique", at the beginning or at the end of the page, you will find my email address.

Best wishes,

Enrique

. . . When they spoke English to me, it was
. . . because they wanted to sell me something.
. . . When they spoke Esperanto to me, it was
. . . because they wanted to be my friends.

Posted: Thursday, July 23, 2009 9:02:00 PM

Bugdoctor said:

>Personally, I'd rather be conversant in a couple of other languages.

I do too. But learning Esperanto took me a few months. Learning English took a huge part of my life.

>I think that would be more beneficial in the long run.