mailing list For webmasters
Welcome Guest
Profile: sathees kumar
About
User Name: sathees kumar
Forum Rank: Newbie
Gender: None Specified
Statistics
Joined: Friday, August 22, 2014
Last Visit: Tuesday, May 4, 2021 4:23:48 AM
Number of Posts: 10
[0.00% of all post / 0.00 posts per day]
Avatar
  Last 10 Posts
Topic: Should it be "Witnessing vividly..." instead?
Posted: Monday, May 3, 2021 1:11:30 PM
Vividly witnessing ...should be okay.
Topic: solve/resolve
Posted: Friday, April 30, 2021 1:43:44 PM
Solve- to find an answer
Resolve- to make a decision.
Topic: I recently had a blood vessel burst in my left eye, . . .
Posted: Sunday, April 25, 2021 7:49:14 AM
'burst' is definitely a noun.
Topic: Graceful, on top, shouldn't have to
Posted: Saturday, April 24, 2021 6:55:35 AM
Then you should'nt have to ask. It is incorrect even if it is colloquially used.
It should have been either 'Then you shouldn't have to.' or "Then you shouldn't have asked.'
Topic: Happy man
Posted: Tuesday, April 20, 2021 5:59:09 AM
I think it is alright.
Topic: We did a science
Posted: Sunday, April 11, 2021 10:10:49 AM
We cannot make out what the presenter has in mind when he said 'we did a science' from the limited information. We will have to have the fuller text of his speech to guage what he has in mind.
Topic: arrival in Hong Kong
Posted: Sunday, April 4, 2021 2:03:08 PM
I THINK IT SHOULD BE ... arrival at Hong Kong instead of 'to' or 'in'.
Topic: Extremely unusual though he was, at that
Posted: Thursday, March 18, 2021 2:47:03 PM
Penz wrote:
Extremely unusual though he was, at that moment Harry Potter felt just like everyone ekse: glad, for the first time in his life, that it was his birthday.


I'm not familiar with this position of "though".
Help me understand.

I would've written it "Extremely unusual he was, though at that ... "

Please help with the construction.

I feel that Rowlings has deliberately written it that way to emphasize the feeling Harry had when he felt glad that it was his birthday.
Topic: truth is stranger than fiction
Posted: Wednesday, March 17, 2021 2:54:30 PM
TRUTH IS DEFINITELY STRANGER THAN FICTION.
Topic: The Free Dictionary will not work properly with ad-blockers
Posted: Tuesday, March 29, 2016 11:17:55 PM
I do not have an Ad blocker installed, yet i am getting the message.