mailing list For webmasters
Welcome Guest
William Shakespeare Options
schrodinger's cat
Posted: Sunday, May 30, 2010 8:30:44 AM

Neurons: 1,977
I happen to have an exam on his plays tomorrow and I thought this would be a nice warm up.

Any opinions, ideas, plays you wish to discuss?

If not, there's something I've been wondering about. Shakespeare has based many of his plays on other sources (novels, plays, other written sources). How do you think this figures into the whole (one of) the greatest playwrights of all times?

Avonlea
Posted: Sunday, May 30, 2010 10:20:30 AM

Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet was so well received, that it was turned into a film and Tchaikovsky turned it into music. I watched the ballet recently.
Isaac Samuel
Posted: Sunday, May 30, 2010 10:49:59 AM

Neurons: 1,222
King Lear and Othello were part of my English Literature class,when I graduated college in the sixties. I guess Shakespeare's plays are still a magnum opus in English literature.
schrodinger's cat
Posted: Sunday, May 30, 2010 11:00:31 AM

Many of Shakespeare's plays were turned into movies and there exists a variety of different adaptations, even some where certain characters or the setting were changed.

Shakespeare is considered THE playwright. I admit that he was good, especially his use of language is admirable but I still can't understand how he can be practically the only remembered. If you asked people to name, say 5 greatest playwrights, I don't know if they could manage that whole none would forget Shakespeare. He's been popularised in sort of a pop psychology way. Perhaps it was also a matter of luck, and not only talent.
Avonlea
Posted: Sunday, May 30, 2010 11:04:22 AM

Verdi wrote the Opera Otello in relation to Shakespeare's Othello.

Sorry if I am not helping. I never caught on to Shakespeare at High School, I know more about music!
schrodinger's cat
Posted: Sunday, May 30, 2010 11:17:28 AM

Any distraction is welcome. Anxious