mailing list For webmasters
Welcome Guest
Is "poor" politically incorrect? Options
cavarden
Posted: Friday, April 17, 2009 12:34:39 PM

Neurons: 39
I'm a translator, mainly between English and Spanish. A few days ago I translated a document from Spanish to English for the Central American branch of a big US corporation. In a paragraph having to do with corporate social responsibility, the Spanish original referred to "poor families", and that's what I wrote in English. A native English speaker who edited my translation marked "poor" as politically incorrect and noted that I should have written "economically disadvantaged".
Does anyone know if "poor" is in fact considered to be politically incorrect nowadays?
If so, I think this is silly (like many other instances of what is politically correct/incorrect). In my view, calling someone "economically disadvantaged" doesn't make them any less poor. What ought to be politically incorrect is doing nothing about poverty.
jacobusmaximus
Posted: Friday, April 17, 2009 12:56:47 PM

Neurons: 625,347
Wealthy people can be 'economically disadvantaged' in certain circumstances, but poor families have nothing but poverty.
Doby
Posted: Friday, April 17, 2009 1:00:12 PM

Neurons: 3
Perhaps the person who told you "poor" was politically incorrect was politically incorrect in their representation. Basically, because "poor" has so many definitions one of which is a person of low quality, using the word "poor" could be conceived as politically incorrect. Had you preceeded the word with "economically" then it is the truth and cannot be perceived in any way but the truth from your perception. But then what is economically poor? $1K a week would be economically poor to some and financially rich to others. There is a famous quote, "Blessed are the poor, for they shall inherit the kingdom". Is there anything that we as humans can say, write or think that would not cause someone somewhere mental discomfort? I think not.
Luftmarque