mailing list For webmasters
Welcome Guest
Is war necessary? Options
Shunyata
Posted: Tuesday, March 16, 2010 7:26:43 PM

Neurons: 81
Hello to everyone here. This is my first time posting a new topic. I have always been battling with this question : Is war necessary? Personally, I can see both sides of the coin, although I'm tempted to lean towards supporting war. I believe war can act as an agent to understanding the value of life, and because it usually means fighting for a cause that you believe is greater than yourself. Of course, war has its destructive effects, which cannot be ignored.

Since I think the question could provide for ambivalent answers, I'd like you guys to rate the necessity of war on a 1-10 scale, where 10 would mean you are strongly against the idea of war. Also, do suggest the reasons for your inclinations!
TYSON
Posted: Tuesday, March 16, 2010 9:53:40 PM

Neurons: 3,793
Tough question. Almost as old as human-kind itself. I dont know the answer. If I did, I'd win the Nobel.
kaleem
Posted: Tuesday, March 16, 2010 9:56:05 PM

Neurons: 9,948
I am strongly against war and I rate it 10, where 10 means strongly against war.

Why?
I don't want to get into lengthy debate. The following quotation is just a reflection of my thoughts;

"It takes twenty years or more of peace to make a man; it takes only twenty seconds of war to destroy him." - Baudouin I

Geeman
Posted: Tuesday, March 16, 2010 10:13:04 PM

Neurons: 125,022
I'm not sure I could answer 1-10 for the necessity of war. I'm not certain it's a necessity at all, though I can't say I see any proof of that assertion.... So, I'd say 0 if that's the scale, but I have to note that that score comes from a rather off-center reading of the word "necessity" rather than something that might be more in line with what you're really asking.
notaalias
Posted: Tuesday, March 16, 2010 10:53:23 PM

Neurons: 6