mailing list For webmasters
Welcome Guest
Spelling dilemna Options
RARA
Posted: Thursday, May 20, 2010 3:55:57 PM

Neurons: 2,097
dingdong wrote:
PinkDeer wrote:
WOW! I'm 43 and this is the FIRST I've ever seen of a debate over dilemna. I was a straight A student in central Illinois, and have always been taught dilemna, NEVER dilemma. Spellcheck kept changing it on me and I subsequently found this forum. I can't see how SO many people in SO many locales could have been taught incorrectly for generations??!! Just makes my head spin.

Pinkdeer, don't spin your head; there's a rational explanation, and I'm trying to find it. If you want an update go to the conspiracy theories thread.
I wouldn't worry unduly, unless you are a student of gramnar and like to put your comnas in the right places.

I'm venturing into the great British countryside tomorrow and will be in search of bookstores with very old dictionaries supporting the Dilemna team!
nooblet
Posted: Thursday, May 20, 2010 5:22:54 PM

Neurons: 4,778
Next time I go to an old bookstore, I will also peruse the dictionaries.

And no head spinning please. I'd hate to have to call an exorcist, they're very expensive and charge by the hour.
Lady Penelope
Posted: Friday, May 21, 2010 7:59:32 PM

Neurons: 1,107

OK, so with 35,325 viewings, is this the biggest thread. I discount the Games threads as they do go on for a long time.
dingdong
Posted: Friday, May 21, 2010 8:48:43 PM

Neurons: 3,370
RARA wrote:

I'm venturing into the great British countryside tomorrow and will be in search of bookstores with very old dictionaries supporting the Dilemna team!

RARA, a good place to venture to is Hay-on-Wye near the Welsh border. It's a small town crammed with second-hand bookshops. One is an old cinema that has been converted. Wish I was there.
Lady Penelope
Posted: Saturday, May 22, 2010 7:29:14 PM

Just been talking to an English profrssor and he was VERY adamant it is Dilemna.
grammargeek