I already knew this word. Applause
Topic: hidebound
Posted: Monday, January 27, 2014 7:22:26 AM
Believe it or not I'm not a hidebound person Whistle
Topic: eldritch
Posted: Sunday, January 26, 2014 11:39:38 AM
rogermue wrote:
To Peaceful

The answer is simple. I studied English and French at the university to become a teacher. But then I found out that I would not stay three weeks in a state school. So I did something else. But my interest for languages remained and in middle life I gave private lessons in English for adult persons. I had a small private school in Munich. I did this for about 15 years. But even now I read more books in English than in German.

But I would never say or dare to say that I speak better English than a native speaker. Far from it. For me English is a foreign language and it will stay a foreign language, even if I know a bit about that language.
But you may believe me that I read the posts of Dragon or thar or others with interest and I learn from them a lot I didn't know before.

Amazing!!!! I'm talking to a teacher :) It is difficult to learn a foreign language and doing PHD Just by reading books in college or university, and I think only hard working students do this. Now you are a teacher, you knows that better.
Posted: Sunday, January 26, 2014 8:09:42 AM
Thanks for answering me MTC I think I should read some of their novels, you can too become a good writer :).
Topic: Haiku Fun
Posted: Saturday, January 25, 2014 1:16:57 PM
A gift from the boss
should not be a pizza Not talking
It should be a burger
Shhh
Posted: Saturday, January 25, 2014 9:16:14 AM
rogermue wrote:
English clearly has too many words. That would be the fate of any other world language. From everywhere, form any place and country words flow into English and are registered in dictionaries. But it can't be the aim of an ESL-speaker or EFL-speaker (second language/foreign language) to know all these words in the dictionaries.