Interests:
Home Page
Statistics
Number of Posts: 1,067
[0.11% of all post / 0.47 posts per day]
  Last 10 Posts
Topic: "recently" at the end of a sentence
Posted: Thursday, August 8, 2019 12:11:20 PM
1. I'm still studying English, and I recently enrolled in a great language school here.
2. I'm still studying English, and I have recently enrolled in a great language school here.

3. I enrolled in a great language school here recently.
4. I have enrolled in a great language school here recently.

Hi,

I know that 1 and 2 are OK. But how about 3 and 4? I mean can I use "recently" at the end?

Thank you.

Sorry if I don't thank you more than once. I don't want to bother you by filling up a thread with multiple thank yous.
Topic: in the last two years
Posted: Thursday, August 8, 2019 12:08:19 PM
Do you have any information about Jack?
No. I have seen him twice in the last two years.
No. I saw him twice in the last two years.

self-made

Hello,

Grammar rules say:

Use the present perfect to talk about an indefinite time in the past.
Use the simple past tense to talk about a definite or specific time.

Now I don't know whether "last two years" is regarded as an "indefinite time in the past" or "specific time in the past". Accordingly I don't know which one of my sentences is right.

Any guidance?

Thank you.

Sorry if I don't thank you more than once. I don't want to bother you by filling up a thread with multiple thank yous.
Topic: have been expressing / has participated
Posted: Sunday, July 21, 2019 12:11:04 PM
Do you mean my options cannot work?

Topic: have been expressing / has participated
Posted: Saturday, July 20, 2019 12:34:24 PM
Chiaki Mukai, a medical doctor as well as Japan's first female astronaut, ...... (participate) in space flights since 1994. John Glenn, the famous U.S. astronaut, and many others ....... (express) admiration for her achievements.

Answer key:
has been participating (unfinished action)
have expressed (finished action)

Hello,