Interests: reading, bicycling, taijiquan
Home Page
Statistics
Number of Posts: 7,973
[0.97% of all post / 3.66 posts per day]
  Last 10 Posts
Topic: Graph description
Posted: Sunday, July 23, 2017 2:38:21 PM
In addition to what FounDit has suggested, I would not describe them as "mail companies", but rather as "delivery services".

"Make it go away, Mrs Whatsit," he whispered. "Make it go away. It's evil."
Topic: I am a not looking scabs doctor
Posted: Sunday, July 23, 2017 2:28:47 PM
Joe Kim wrote:
Thank you everyone.

Not scary looking docor. Scabs--the hard dark layer over a wound on skin. And a doctor who wouldn't look at scabs on the skin while treating the wound.

(It's just children's play)

What would be the right answer?

As child's play, the more natural version would be "a scabs-looking doctor", as in a doctor who examines and treats scabs, but that is far from standard English. A more mature child might improvise: "I am not a scab healer; show that to the nurse!"

Topic: You will hear a man talking/talk about his hobby.
Posted: Sunday, July 23, 2017 2:00:21 PM
EnglishFanatic92 wrote:
Hello all!

1) You will hear a man talking about his hobby.

2) You will hear a man talk about his hobby.

In which context could I use the second example? Could the second one have the same meaning as the first one in certain situations?

I thought I knew the rule for these verbs of senses but it seems to me it works differently with the future tenses. But I might be wrong.

Thanks.

I hear the difference as being quite subtle. Sentence 1) means literally hearing the man uttering words in a particular instance. Sentence 2) means something more like hearing a man expressing himself on a particular topic. In most cases, the interpretation is the same. The difference would come about if greater emphasis were to be made on the sounds a man is making or the ideas he is expressing.

Topic: IF/WHEN in this sentence and context
Posted: Sunday, July 23, 2017 1:51:31 PM