Last 10 Posts
Topic: Pet Peeves
Posted: Monday, August 24, 2009 1:17:51 PM
Tito wrote:
Hi,
Very interesting discussion.
I'm an intermediate English student.

I have some questions:

Splitting infinitives is a no, no? I had been told otherwise.

If this has been addressed sufficiently, forgive. I did some research on this for something
I am working on. I'd like to offer this take on the split infinitive.

Lord Bishop of London, Robert Lowth (1710 – 1787 ) was a Bishop of the Church of England, and author of A Short Introduction to English Grammar, 1762. Lowth is known for prescribing English, much so based on the rules of Latin, which doesn’t do much for his reputation; but if people were as forgiving of Lowth as they are of Shakespeare, perhaps they wouldn’t advertise their displeasure with Lowth’s personal biases.
Lowth’s cross-lingual logic is not necessarily such a bad approach if the logic used is valid in both languages, but this was not always the case. Lowth spoke out against the split infinitive, for example. In Latin, the infinitive is a single unit, so there is no need for the proscription. In English the infinitive lends itself to being split.

That is my take, based on what I have read.
Topic: 'i' before 'e' except after 'c,' but skip this rule for 'weird' because it's weird !
Posted: Monday, August 24, 2009 11:13:44 AM
vr091073 wrote:
Betsy D. wrote:
[quote=arthbard][quote=Picaro]In the word 'neighbour' e comes before i disproving the weird rule.nope,i don't remember any rule as regards spelling.

It would appear that there exist almost as many exceptions as there are words which do follow the supposed norm. I can also think of 'inveigle,' yet another example that defies the general rule.

Society Whistle
Posted: Monday, August 24, 2009 10:45:43 AM
JPK wrote:
Taranaga wrote:
It's the incorrect use of "woman" and "women", can you believe!!??

I also wish journalists would proofread, welcome aboard!