Home Page
Statistics
Number of Posts: 24
[0.00% of all post / 0.02 posts per day]
  Last 10 Posts
Topic: shadowy face
Posted: Sunday, November 15, 2015 11:48:27 AM
sureshot wrote:

The word "reflection" is generally associated with an image produced consequent to reflection of light. But, when the image is indistinct, faint or ill-defined, a more appropriate word is "shadowy". Glasses can be transparent. In some cases, they cause some reflection but not to the extent of a mirror. "Shadowy face" represents one such face/image of a face.

I hope this explanation helps you. It would be interesting to know your reaction to this meaning.

Thank you for your reply. I was gravitating towards that simpler meaning too. But it is a bit ambiguous, and sometimes we tend to overthink things :)

To the others: such replies discourage people from posting. Yes, I'm a "newcomer", so I'm in the wrong by default. Instead of getting help, I'm being judged.
I've been teaching English for 15 years. I'm also a professional translator. I'm translating a story and want to be accurate. I'm sorry I asked a question.
Posted: Saturday, November 14, 2015 6:54:52 PM
IMcRout wrote:
It can be either.

That's why I'm asking for opinions.

IMcRout wrote:
What you call 'context' in reality only tells us very little about the situation in which this happens.

I "call" it context because that's all there is, thank you very much for being so nice. If you don't have anything of value to say, better not say anything.
Are you even a native speaker?
Posted: Saturday, November 14, 2015 1:24:26 PM
Context: a man is looking at his reflection in a window, "at that shadowy face". Is the reflection shadowy because, well, it's a reflection, or is the man's face itself shadowy? Because it changes the meaning. So is "shadowy" here = indistinct or something else?
Thank you in advance for your replies.
Topic: strange sentence
Posted: Wednesday, September 23, 2015 4:31:15 PM