The Free Dictionary  
mailing list For webmasters
Welcome Guest Forum Search | Active Topics | Members

use of a few words (out of our control/substitute) Options
EnglishFanatic92
Posted: Sunday, May 13, 2018 9:14:24 AM

Neurons: 643
Hello all!

- There may be situations that are out of our control, yet we can often influence the outcome. - Here a teacher (a native speaker- US) suggested that "BEYOND our countrol" is better. Is it really that? Is it possible to explain the difference, if there is any?

- The soldier´s injury is a trivial one. Yet, a short-term substitute will be necessary. Is it OK to use "substitute" in this context? I was told that "replacement" is way better.

Looking forward to your replies :-)

Thank you!
TMe
Posted: Sunday, May 13, 2018 10:18:53 AM

Neurons: 4,843
"Beyond our control" is definitely better.

Substitute or replacement; not much difference here. IMO

I am a layman.
FounDit
Posted: Sunday, May 13, 2018 10:35:44 AM

Neurons: 49,559
EnglishFanatic92 wrote:
Hello all!

- There may be situations that are out of our control, yet we can often influence the outcome. - Here a teacher (a native speaker- US) suggested that "BEYOND our countrol" is better. Is it really that? Is it possible to explain the difference, if there is any?
I don't see any difference. "out of our control" simply says that something is out(side) our control. Beyond our control says the same thing. If it is beyond, it is outside our limit. That said, using "beyond" has a slightly more formal sound to it, so may be preferred by folks such as teachers.

- The soldier´s injury is a trivial one. Yet, a short-term substitute will be necessary. Is it OK to use "substitute" in this context? I was told that "replacement" is way better.