The Free Dictionary  
mailing list For webmasters
Welcome Guest Forum Search | Active Topics | Members

Help with survey design? Options
Epiphileon
Posted: Wednesday, April 11, 2018 6:15:28 PM

Neurons: 62,004
Hi guys, As some of you know I drive a school bus now, but at one time was in training for a career in research. I've been driving a bus for 10 years now and something I've heard for all that time, is that we are always short of drivers. This year however, it got to the point in New Hampshire where 2 districts had to delay opening school because of it.

The problem seems to be getting worse and this last year I got curious enough to research the problem. I quickly discovered while there is a plethora of information on the Web about the problem, there is a dearth of actual research addressing the problem at the level from which it stems. I went to my manager and told her about my notions of how we might be able to improve strategies for recruitment and retention from a data driven perspective. Of course that meant I would have to grind the rust off of a 30 year old skill set.

I have already done one survey that was mostly basic demographics and experience history, those are easy, what I need help with are the following type of questions.

8) Does your pay allow you to meet your financial needs?
__1. Not at all __2. Barely __3. Adequately __4. Comfortably __5. Provides Surplus

9) How often is student management a problem on your bus?
__1. Never __2.Sometimes __3. Once a week __4. Regularly __5.Every Day

10) When you write a student up, the school takes appropriate and effective action?
__1. Never __2.Sometimes __3. Half the time __4. Most times __5.Every time

11) How would you describe the driver staffing level at your terminal?.__1. Critically short __2 .Somewhat short __3.Adequate __4.Very good __5.Too many drivers

12) How negatively does the driver shortage effect your job experience in general?