The Free Dictionary  
mailing list For webmasters
Welcome Guest Forum Search | Active Topics | Members

Meaning of 'half-pay'. Options
TMe
Posted: Tuesday, September 12, 2017 8:46:03 AM

Neurons: 3,004
Respected Teachers, please tell me what is the meaning of 'half-pay' in the following context.

"Oh, I'm sure she will prevent him from seeing those half-pay, questionable people. I'll talk to her," said Mademoiselle Cormon, "for he might lose his place in the mayor's office; and then what would he and his mother have to live on? It makes me shudder."

I am a layman.
leonAzul
Posted: Tuesday, September 12, 2017 10:25:20 AM

Neurons: 25,548
TMe wrote:
Respected Teachers, please tell me what is the meaning of 'half-pay' in the following context.

"Oh, I'm sure she will prevent him from seeing those half-pay, questionable people. I'll talk to her," said Mademoiselle Cormon, "for he might lose his place in the mayor's office; and then what would he and his mother have to live on? It makes me shudder."

I would need more context to explain it further.

Literally, "half-pay" would refer to those who give or accept half the pay one would normally expect to receive for a particular job.

There is one thing that is universal across all languages and cultures: we all experience conflict amongst us, and what distinguishes each and every one of us is the way in which we resolve those conflicts.

Dancing

"Make it go away, Mrs Whatsit," he whispered. "Make it go away. It's evil."
Chazlee
Posted: Thursday, September 14, 2017 3:13:12 AM

Neurons: 3,934
TMe wrote:

I agree with leonAzul that more context is needed, but based on what is written, especially the phrase "questionable people," I would suspect that the speaker is talking about people who are poor, or people who are not on the same high-level in society as she is.

Peace. Chazlee.
mactoria
Posted: Thursday, September 14, 2017 3:53:55 AM

Neurons: 883,007
TMe wrote: