The Free Dictionary  
mailing list For webmasters
Welcome Guest Forum Search | Active Topics | Members

How Close are Spanish and Portuguese Languages? Options
Hope123
Posted: Monday, September 11, 2017 10:22:14 AM

Neurons: 41,105
I am studying my Spanish again for a planned trip to Nuevo Vallarta winter of 2018.

However, my sister-in-law just asked if we'd be interested in spending a month in Portugal in winter 2019. All things being equal.

So I was wondering if knowing some Spanish would help or hinder in Portugal. My friend who travels there suggested I get a "Portuguese for Dummies" book as she did and study that language too.

Any thoughts?

World food shortage that threatens five hundred million children could be alleviated at the cost of one day's warfare.
Drag0nspeaker
Posted: Monday, September 11, 2017 10:59:33 AM

Neurons: 149,104
Definitely not my area, as I don't know either language.

However, I have the idea (from a couple of conversations with South American Portuguese-speakers) that it is similar but different - a bit more than dialect.
Like Scots and English. The base language is the same, but pronunciation is different and there are many words which don't match.

"To eat" (food) in both is 'comer'.
"To eat into" (rust or 'eat into our savings') is 'gastar' in Portuguese and 'corroer' is Spanish.

Both use 'ir' meaning 'to go' but Spanish has one set of synonyms and Portuguese has a different set.
"The meeting went well" uses 'decorrer' in Portuguese, but Spanish uses 'fue' or 'passa'.

I would guess that knowledge of basic Spanish will probably will help, but beware of thinking that they're the same.

Wyrd bið ful aræd - bull!
redgriffin
Posted: Monday, September 11, 2017 11:18:24 AM

Neurons: 92,166
Well let me ask you this how close are Canadian and US English? my answer would be about that close.
taurine
Posted: Monday, September 11, 2017 11:46:12 AM

Neurons: 50,788
I think that the article on Wikipedia could give you a detailed answer.