The Free Dictionary  
mailing list For webmasters
Welcome Guest Forum Search | Active Topics | Members

To go over? Options
Tomahawk71
Posted: Saturday, July 08, 2017 2:15:32 AM

Neurons: 121,606
What does "to go over" mean here, please?

"Then he went over."

thar
Posted: Saturday, July 08, 2017 2:54:50 AM

Neurons: 60,813
He was Chapel. Then he went over.
What's the other side from Chapel?

Chapel is non-conformist Protestant Christianity- as opposed to Church, which is conformist Protestant Christianity.

So, going over to the other side? My guess is going mainstream, Church of England. Anglican.
I don't think it could mean Catholicism, - that is far more extreme than just 'giving over'. And going over to C of E fits in with his desire to become part of the establishment.

I am assuming he was Baptist, because 'Tabernacle' sounds Baptist to me. But I'm no expert. He could have been another non-conformist denomination, such as Methodist.
Then he went over [to the other side]. The 'Establishment'.
Think Darth Vader. Whistle

Some context, in humour:
Quote:
Boyton in Cornwall. It was a small village with two places of worship – one at either end of the main street. One was a church and the other a chapel, a situation which posed an existential question.

“Are you Church or Chapel?” was the question posed to my mother one day after we moved into a house in a small Cornish village. We’d moved there from our previous home – also in a small Cornish village.