The Free Dictionary  
mailing list For webmasters
Welcome Guest Forum Search | Active Topics | Members

Antonym of 'religious'. Options
TMe
Posted: Friday, June 30, 2017 12:24:05 PM

Neurons: 3,094
What is the antonym (one word) of religious?

2) Who is a fanatic?

I am a layman.
Absinthius
Posted: Friday, June 30, 2017 1:42:51 PM

Neurons: 20,027
TMe wrote:
What is the antonym (one word) of religious?

Rational.

2) Who is a fanatic?

Anyone who thinks others have to adhere to their beliefs. Especially if they use force, indoctrination or fear to make it so.

Though there is of course no one true answer to these questions.

Look, how about this? Let's pretend we've had the row and I've won. See? It saves a lot of effort.
Epiphileon
Posted: Sunday, July 02, 2017 4:31:30 AM

Neurons: 57,149
I'm not sure there is a direct antonym, areligious seems to be the closest.
TFD redirects to irreligious when attempting to look it up there; however Websters has the definition as, "Not influenced by or practicing religion."

I did some checking and it seems I was right there is no direct antonym. Websters thesaurus lists some word as near antonyms, and the site claiming to be Roget's thesaurus lists none.

Areligious means only, without regard to religion. Irreligion means hostility or indifference to religion. Atheism and agnosticism, refer specifically to belief in a god(s). Secularism can be used with reference to activities performed by a religion that have no relation to that religion. So it seems there is no direct antonym.