The Free Dictionary  
mailing list For webmasters
Welcome Guest Forum Search | Active Topics | Members

This Day in History Options
Bedells
Posted: Wednesday, June 28, 2017 9:18:28 AM

Neurons: 526,792
I read that today in June 28 1846, Antoine-Joseph "Adolphe" Sax patented the Saxophone; which I considered it's one of the instruments that best transmits romanticism.

I think this is a fact worth sharing.
hedy mmm
Posted: Wednesday, June 28, 2017 10:05:53 AM

Neurons: 502,966
I agree 100% ...and it's one of my favorite instruments!
Thank you Bedells,

hedy

"God graced us with today....don't waste it." hedy
TMe
Posted: Wednesday, June 28, 2017 11:49:33 AM

Neurons: 4,655
Ahahhhahaha; Not disagreeing. My choice

Harmonica.

In solitude,in an echoing room, with lights dimmed, absolute silence,eyes closed with someone(dont ask who) when I played , 'someone' felt like at Cloud 9 of heaven.

I am a layman.
taurine
Posted: Wednesday, June 28, 2017 1:47:26 PM

Neurons: 67,785
My house mate plays on saxophone. From my personal experience I may say that it is an interesting instrument, although I used to think that Afro-Americans are the only once who can play it.

J'ai perdu mes amis en Afrique durant la dernière semaine de 2017
hedy mmm
Posted: Wednesday, June 28, 2017 2:29:25 PM

TMe wrote:
Harmonica.
In solitude,in an echoing room, with lights dimmed, absolute silence,eyes closed with someone(dont ask who) when I played , 'someone' felt like at Cloud 9 of heaven.

TMe I think you're right! To me the thought and sound of a harmonica invokes a heavenly soft melody, and yes, in solitude or with someone very special.