The Free Dictionary  
mailing list For webmasters
Welcome Guest Forum Search | Active Topics | Members

Is the Internet Destroying our Brains? Options
Ashwin Joshi
Posted: Monday, August 14, 2017 8:51:32 AM

Neurons: 66,386
"As the internet continues to act as your de facto brain, it becomes increasingly important for you to have handy at all times, which makes you use it more to compensate for your atrophied brain matter, which makes you use your brain less, thus requiring you to rely on the internet even more. It’s not an exaggeration, either: as well as being totally depressed, heavy users have shown shrunken sections of white matter in multiple sections of the brain."-Blogspot

Savannah

Me Gathering Pebbles at The Seashore.-Aj
TMe
Posted: Wednesday, August 23, 2017 1:02:26 PM

Neurons: 3,094
Excessive indulgence may do.

I am a layman.
towan52
Posted: Thursday, August 24, 2017 10:46:31 AM

Neurons: 156,653
According to Wikipedia, this is unlikely.... d'oh!

"Today I was a hero. I rescued some beer that was trapped in a bottle"
Hope123
Posted: Thursday, August 24, 2017 9:57:49 PM

Neurons: 40,256
towan52 wrote:
According to Wikipedia, this is unlikely.... d'oh!

Applause Applause Applause

Equality is when you see a person - not a label.
almo 1
Posted: Thursday, August 24, 2017 10:58:02 PM

Neurons: 3,921

“No matter how you care to define it, I do not identify with the local group. Planet, species, race, nation, state, religion, party, union, club, association, neighborhood improvement committee; I have no interest in any of it. I love and treasure individuals as I meet them, I loathe and despise the groups they identify with and belong to.”

― George Carlin, Brain Droppings

“There are women named Faith, Hope, Joy, and Prudence. Why not Despair, Guilt, Rage, and Grief? It seems only right. 'Tom, I'd like you to meet the girl of my dreams, Tragedy.' ”

― George Carlin, Brain Droppings

Sarrriesfan
Posted: Friday, August 25, 2017 6:14:57 AM

Neurons: 4,408