The Free Dictionary  
mailing list For webmasters
Welcome Guest Forum Search | Active Topics | Members

Text correction Options
Bryrorii
Posted: Wednesday, August 02, 2017 10:40:51 PM

Neurons: 20
Hello, I'm studying for TOEFL and I wrote a text today, but don't think I'll be able to really correct my own text.
Would you kindly help me?
The text is below.
It's about changing the current paper voting system in the USA.
If you are interested in reading the base text and the lecture, the link is below:
https://www.ets.org/Media/Tests/TOEFL/pdf/SampleQuestions.pdf
Writing Section, question 1.

Thank you very much!

Summarize the points made in the lecture, being sure to explain how they oppose specific points made in the reading passage. (150-220 w)

The text is defending the opinion that a new, more technological voting system is necessary in the United States. However, the professor thinks that the implementation of technology in the voting process wouldn't bring improvements.
It's stated in the passage that people can accidentally vote wrong in the traditional system, because the letters in the ballots are very small and the names of the candidates are close to one another. This way, people with poor eyesight, for example, could benefit from easy touch interfaces that could magnify the letters. The lecturer defends that some people would vote wrong anyway in computerized voting systems, because there are some who are not used with computers. He even states that some people wouldn't even vote out of fear of this technology.
The second fact is that people who count the votes can make errors, and this would be inevitable because they deal with thousands of ballots. However, the professor upholds that votes can also be miscounted by computers and even worse, they can be deleted. This way a recount wouldn't be only expensive and long, as it is in the traditional method, but also impossible.