The Free Dictionary  
mailing list For webmasters
Welcome Guest Forum Search | Active Topics | Members

kibitzing Options
almo 1
Posted: Sunday, July 30, 2017 6:36:09 AM

Neurons: 3,035
Hello there, here is my question:

Do you use or hear the word kibitz in everyday conversation?

Thank you.

Sarrriesfan
Posted: Sunday, July 30, 2017 6:44:09 AM

Neurons: 4,063
I don't here in the UK our North American friends may have a different view.

I lack the imagination for a witty signature.
TMe
Posted: Sunday, July 30, 2017 8:48:34 AM

Neurons: 2,634
No. Sparingly used in AE. Kibitz=converse

I am a layman.
hedy mmm
Posted: Sunday, July 30, 2017 8:51:47 AM

Neurons: 391,615
Hi almo 1,
I've missed 'ya... Drool

Yes, the word is one I frequently use when chatting with friends, however, (only in an informal manner), most likely because this Yiddish word's origin is colloquial German (which I am half...other half, Boriqua!). d'oh!

For those of you who may not know its meaning, it's synonymous with a busybody, interloper, pry, poke, intrude, intervene or maybe just having fun...guess it's a nicer word when you say you are kibitzing with your friends, and not insulting. Anxious

Have a blessed weekend,
hedy Dancing

"God graced us with today....don't waste it." hedy
TMe
Posted: Sunday, July 30, 2017 9:19:28 AM

Neurons: 2,634
..hedy, is 'kidding' the same as kibitzing?

I am a layman.
Drag0nspeaker
Posted: Sunday, July 30, 2017 10:01:58 AM

Neurons: 141,825
I wouldn't at all say that 'kidding' is the same as 'kibitzing'.

As Hedy said, it is interfering, prying, intruding, meddling.

kibitz vb
(intr) informal US and Canadian to interfere or offer unwanted advice, esp as a spectator at a card game

Noun 1. kibitzer - (Yiddish) a meddler who offers unwanted advice to others

I've very rarely heard it - and then only in connection to a card game (someone who walks behind the players looking at people's cards and telling them how they should play).

Wyrd bið ful aræd - bull!
thar