The Free Dictionary  
mailing list For webmasters
Welcome Guest Forum Search | Active Topics | Members

Birthday and Date of Birth. Options
TMe
Posted: Friday, July 21, 2017 1:46:43 PM

Neurons: 3,094
We celebrate Birthday of our dears but, in official papers, we write date of birth not day of birth.
Birthday is a moment of the past, will never repeat. Birth date, every year, will remind us of our birth. Experts,please explain, why it is so.

I am a layman.
Sarrriesfan
Posted: Friday, July 21, 2017 3:45:20 PM

Neurons: 4,428
TMe wrote:
We celebrate Birthday of our dears but, in official papers, we write date of birth not day of birth.
Birthday is a moment of the past, will never repeat. Birth date, every year, will remind us of our birth. Experts,please explain, why it is so.

Date of birth and day of birth are two different things.

My date of birth would be the day/month/year, the day I was born was a Wednesday.

Which means in the words of the British folk rhyme I am full of woe..

I lack the imagination for a witty signature.
Romany
Posted: Friday, July 21, 2017 4:11:37 PM

Neurons: 39,161

As an explanation for anyone not familiar with Sarries reference: - we have a very old folk-saying in English:-

"Monday's child is fair of face
Tuesday's child is full of grace,
Wednesday's child is full of woe,
Thursday's child has far to go,
Friday's child is loving and giving,
Saturday's child works hard for a living,
But the child who is born on the Sabbath Day
Is bonny and blithe and good and gay."

About the only time we ever inquire into a person's 'day' of birth is to find out which of these lines is supposed to apply.
will
Posted: Friday, July 21, 2017 4:14:42 PM

Neurons: 4,152
Friday... full of beer.

In parts of America being gay is never acceptable, especially on the Sabbath day. Silenced
Romany
Posted: Friday, July 21, 2017 4:49:46 PM

Neurons: 39,161

Oh, silly boy, Will. All gay people take the day off on Sunday - didn't you know?
Hope123