Posted: Monday, July 10, 2017 4:49:23 PM

Neurons: 1,864
Is religion the opium of the people?

TMe
Posted: Tuesday, July 11, 2017 11:13:45 AM

Neurons: 2,284
No, it's heroin.

‘Only sheep need a shepherd.’ ~Voltaire

Totally my personal opinion: but searched from net.

The starting point of religion is fear. Religion is based on the idea of sin: all people are born sinners, impure souls, and if they don’t purify themselves, they will soon be condemned to hell by God, where they will have to experience eternal suffering.

In order to avoid hell, religion demands that people prove to God that they are worthy of heaven. How? By following the dogma of religion. Naturally, when people are put in such a situation, they find themselves in a continuous state of fear. They are always afraid of whether their actions are right according to religion or not.

I am a layman.
Yarin
Posted: Tuesday, July 11, 2017 4:38:31 PM

Neurons: 1,864

I believe that each one of us is born pure of heart and innoent. The soul is a clean slate at birth and has a tendency towards good, but the lack of education and of virtues brings the human into primitivism.
leonAzul
Posted: Friday, July 14, 2017 12:30:17 AM

Neurons: 25,156
I find that this metaphor is more meaningful than perhaps Karl Marx intended.

Like opium, religion in the occident can be a great source of comfort and encouragement in a disappointing and depressing world. There is no mystery why a common epithet of the Holy Spirit is "Paraclete". The obvious analogy to morphine as a surgical anesthetic is obvious.

However unwittingly, it is also possible to become addicted, and like the devastation that opium and its derivatives wreaks upon the human brain, the misapplication of faith is perhaps even more odious due to the lack of chemical antidotes.

It gets even weirder when the bishop is a junky.