The Free Dictionary  
mailing list For webmasters
Welcome Guest Forum Search | Active Topics | Members

Do you agree? Options
gammaglot
Posted: Tuesday, February 14, 2017 9:13:13 AM

Neurons: 371
It has been said (I am not sure where or when ):
"There is no place in the mind of a religious fanatic (extremist) where reason and logic can enter."
This statement has been attributed to the once Emperor of France : Napoleon

I would like to learn if or not you agree, and do you have any stories to tell as to explain why.
I once was speaking with a fundamentalist creationist about dinosaur fossils.
He told me that such things were the result of whirlpools and eddies caused by the Biblical Flood.
My efforts to teach otherwise were futile.
As a Biotech Scientist, I find this troublesome.
Харбин Хэйлунцзян 1
Posted: Tuesday, February 14, 2017 10:01:05 AM

Neurons: 500,500
gammaglot wrote:
He told me that such things were the result of whirlpools and eddies caused by the Biblical Flood.

I wish I had your problems.

აბა ყვავებს ვინ დაიჭერს, კარგო? გალიაში ბულბულები ზიან.
Drag0nspeaker
Posted: Tuesday, February 14, 2017 10:05:32 AM

Neurons: 167,141
I agree - but I reserve the right to define the words.

Religion - n
A cause, principle, or activity pursued with zeal or conscientious devotion:
- American Heritage
something of overwhelming importance to a person: Collins
something a person believes in and follows devotedly. Random House Kernerman Webster's College Dictionary

So this can refer to Christianity, Atheism, Zoroastrianism, Islam, parts of 'Science', Catholicism, Protestantism, Buddhism.

fa·nat·ic n.
A person marked or motivated by an extreme, unreasoning enthusiasm, as for a cause.
American Heritage
a person whose enthusiasm or zeal for something is extreme or beyond normal limits Collins
a person with an extreme and uncritical enthusiasm or zeal, as in religion or politics; zealot. Random House Kernerman Webster's College Dictionary