The Free Dictionary  
mailing list For webmasters
Welcome Guest Forum Search | Active Topics | Members

Anglosaxon diplomas in Latin Options
SandraM
Posted: Thursday, April 02, 2009 6:41:17 AM

Neurons: 1,454
As a translator, I noticed that quite a lot of anglosaxon universities delivered their diplomas in Latin. To add a bit of style, I imagine. Is it still the case now? And do universities from other countries (I only saw American and Scottish diplomas in Latin) do that too?
I certainly never saw that in France. Not in the last two centuries anyway ;-).
I like this idea of Latin as a lingua franca for knowledge and education.
I would have loved to get my diploma of classical studies in Latin. And you, was your diploma written in Latin?
elisa
Posted: Thursday, April 02, 2009 1:32:11 PM

Neurons: 1,418
Hi!

Latin as lingua franca would be a great idea!:-)
People who speak Romance languages would be in advantage.... but I'm sure lots of people would like more studying English than Latin!
There are lots of prejudices regarding dead languages!Not talking

Although I attended classical studies, I didn't got a diploma in Latin, just in Italian. Italian Universities (and schools) use to write diplomas only in Italian.

*ELISA*
Ahimsa
Posted: Monday, April 06, 2009 9:41:53 AM

Neurons: 420
Hello,

My diploma is written in Latin. I believe that most portuguese traditional Universities will have their diplomas in Latin. If not they'll have the grade in Latin (Maxima Cum Laude, etc).

I've also seen some diplomas with the names translated as well, which looks quaint. :-)

To have another language is to possess a second soul. Charlemagne (742-814 A.D.)
SandraM
Posted: Tuesday, April 07, 2009 10:34:41 AM

Neurons: 1,454
Hi Ahimsa!