The Free Dictionary  
mailing list For webmasters
Welcome Guest Forum Search | Active Topics | Members

Where did you learn Latin? Options
SandraM
Posted: Tuesday, April 28, 2009 6:32:39 AM

Neurons: 1,454
Hey you, Latin reading users!
I am curious to know where and how you learnt Latin.
I learnt in college and some of my friends studied it in high school (in France it is possible in almost all high schools).
What about you?
elisa
Posted: Tuesday, April 28, 2009 8:46:59 AM

Neurons: 1,418
Hi Sandra!

It's me (as usual)!:-))

I learnt Latin (and Greek) during my high school.

In Italy, high school takes the age from 14 to 19 years old, but you have to study Latin only if you choose the classic address (called "Classic Lyceum", here Greek is mandatory too) or the scientific address or the teacher-training school.

I chose the Classic Lyceum, thus I studied Latin language and literature but also Greek language and literature.
In the first 2 years you usually concentrate on Latin and Greek grammar, then on the other 3 years you focus mainly on literature (prose and poetry).
However, you are required to translate texts from Latin and Greek to Italian for all the 5 years.

When I had the examinations at the end of the 5 years, it included a written test on Latin or Greek (a translation) and an oral test on the other language (to illustrate, in my case I had the written test for Latin and the oral test for Greek).

*ELISA*
SandraM
Posted: Wednesday, April 29, 2009 6:31:26 AM

Hi Elisa!
In France everyone can study Latin in high scool from the age of 12 and Greek from 14 (it used to be both from 13 and that's what I did with Greek). I think it's a very good thing that any child who wants to discover the Roman and Greek worlds can do just that. It's a great asset in the French system, IMO, but of course, it's threatened because it isn't cheap.