The Free Dictionary  
mailing list For webmasters
Welcome Guest Forum Search | Active Topics | Members

Masonry - a great historical mistake? Options
Kirill Vorobyov
Posted: Monday, November 19, 2018 6:47:59 AM

Neurons: 2,865
Hello, everybody!

I've read the "Legend of Adoniram" (I understand in English it is also known as Hiramic Legend) and wanted to share my take on it and it allegedly being one of the foundations of the global masonry movement.

(By the way, I wanted to post a link to the legend's English text but failed to find one. The Russian texts all seem to be based on translation of the 1863 French book "Les secrets et sociétés secrètes" by Compte le Couteulx de Canteleu).

Now, I am not an expert at all, so I am sure I must be missing a lot of nuances and would be grateful, too, to anybody who helps me to fill these gaps, but here is what I think:

1. This is not and should have never become a worldwide story. This is an internal Jewish story - about a conflict between two different strains within Jewish people (Cain's kin vs. Avel's kin). So the first mistake was that this conflict was somehow projected on the whole world and other people.

2. Another and very practical implication of #1, is that although the legend may seem to lay grounds for a strive to overthrow earthly kings, in fact it again refers only to (one line of) Jewish kings. It has nothing to do whatsoever with, for example, Indo-European kings/tsars, or those in other parts of the world. And then it follows that the five-pointed star on the United States national flag and that in the post-1917 Russia (still there on Kremlin towers), which is allegedly a masonry symbol marking the overthrow of the power of kings, has in fact never belonged to any of these places. It may be a legitimate symbol somewhere in the Middle East, but historically completely out of place in the middle of the Eurasian and/or American continents.