The Free Dictionary  
mailing list For webmasters
Welcome Guest Forum Search | Active Topics | Members

scurvy Options
Daemon
Posted: Saturday, September 22, 2018 12:00:00 AM

Neurons: 77,199
scurvy

(adjective) Of the most contemptible kind.

Synonyms: abject, low-down, scummy, miserable, low

Usage: It was a scurvy trick to play on a helpless old lady, but he was desperate for money and therefore went along with the plan to swindle her out of her life savings.
xrayangiodoc
Posted: Saturday, September 22, 2018 3:09:38 AM

Neurons: 118
Seems to me that no definition of, "Scurvy" is complete without the primary definition being the condition or disease caused by Vitamin C deficiency! Then again, I'm a Doctor.
lazarius
Posted: Saturday, September 22, 2018 5:59:09 AM

Neurons: 120,913
xrayangiodoc wrote:
Seems to me that no definition of, "Scurvy" is complete without the primary definition being the condition or disease caused by Vitamin C deficiency!

Just follow the link. :)

--

Не надо отчаиваться, товарищ.
IBMJunkman
Posted: Saturday, September 22, 2018 8:27:48 AM

Neurons: 13
I am with the doctor. The definition in the email should be the most important one. The recent definition for faithless shown in the email stumped me. I had never used the word in the context mentioned. The email should have said without faith.
lazarius
Posted: Saturday, September 22, 2018 10:51:31 AM

Neurons: 120,913
IBMJunkman wrote:
The recent definition for faithless shown in the email stumped me. I had never used the word in the context mentioned. The email should have said without faith.

I'm afraid there's something you do not understand. Here are 5 first examples from that page and in all of them it's unfaithful:

Quote:
Thank God, the first shock of things has abated, now that you have agreed not to look upon me as faithless and an egotist simply because I have deceived you.