The Free Dictionary  
mailing list For webmasters
Welcome Guest Forum Search | Active Topics | Members

Gathering Knowledge Options
TMe
Posted: Monday, April 9, 2018 10:09:45 AM

Neurons: 4,525
Hello Teachers sirs/Mesdames Which of the following sentences is correct?

I am in a dilemma as I read both the sentences in the same article.

“Gathering knowledge for knowledge’s sake is termed ‘pure’ or ‘basic’ research.”

or

“Gathering knowledge for knowledges sake is termed ‘pure’ or ‘basic’ research.”

I am a layman.
Kirill Vorobyov
Posted: Monday, April 9, 2018 10:31:29 AM

Neurons: 2,220
TMe wrote:
Hello Teachers sirs, [/b]

I understand this is worse than the f-word these days.
(i) you explicitely discriminate against women, (ii) "sirs" seem to be out of favour as such.
No wonder there're no responses. People don't want to establish links with this.
Donthailand
Posted: Monday, April 9, 2018 10:48:32 AM

Neurons: 619,800
I believe this is the correct one: “Gathering knowledge for knowledge’s sake is termed ‘pure’ or ‘basic’ research.”
TMe
Posted: Monday, April 9, 2018 11:24:44 AM

Neurons: 4,525
Kirril Wrote;
I understand this is worse than the f-word these days.
(i) you explicitely discriminate against women, (ii) "sirs" seem to be out of favour as such.

Thanks for correcting me as far I know.of English.

But 'explicitely' is no word of English Language.It is explicitly.Dancing Dancing Dancing

But I feel when responses are expected from both genders, 'sirs' is correct.

Haven't you noticed the salutation, 'Respected teachers'?

Does 'Honor' distinguish. I doubt. But that was not my intention.
Anyways, Your words are too harsh.

I am a layman.
NKM
Posted: Monday, April 9, 2018 4:58:28 PM

Neurons: 236,309
As Donthailand says, the correct form is the one with the apostrophe in "knowledege's sake".

georgew
Posted: Monday, April 9, 2018 5:15:35 PM

Neurons: 838
Donthailand wrote: