expert on/in/at Options
dave freak
Posted: Friday, March 13, 2015 12:04:42 PM

Neurons: 6,628
Is there any difference between:

#1 I'm not an expert on English.
#2 I'm not an expert in English.
#3 I'm not an expert at English.

I saw some native speakers from the forum use "on", so I followed suit. However, I would like to know why there are as many as three options. It has to be some difference, then? Which one requires knowledge, and which practise? Which both? Which one means I'm an expert by education/profession? Which one means I'm just into something?

Dave
NKM
Posted: Friday, March 13, 2015 2:01:15 PM

Neurons: 264,619
dave freak wrote:
Is there any difference between:

#1 I'm not an expert on English.
#2 I'm not an expert in English.
#3 I'm not an expert at English.

I saw some native speakers from the forum use "on", so I followed suit. However, I would like to know why there are as many as three options. It has to be some difference, then? Which one requires knowledge, and which practise? Which both? Which one means I'm an expert by education/profession? Which one means I'm just into something?

The first two sentences seem to be lacking something, as if needing another word or phrase to make them complete.

#1 "An expert on [the subject of] English" would be someone who knows a lot about English, probably by education and perhaps as a profession.

#2 "An expert in English" seems to me very strange, and not something I'd expect to hear from a native speaker. (However, "An expert in the use of English" makes sense.)

#3 "An expert at [using] English" would be someone who is very good at using English. (requires both knowledge and practice.)

dave freak
Posted: Friday, March 13, 2015 3:21:54 PM