Posted: Saturday, January 13, 2018 7:08:27 AM

Neurons: 10,724

the things about Great Britain

It may interest you.

What should be shall be-The fellowship of the ring-
Hope123
Posted: Saturday, January 13, 2018 11:06:12 AM

Neurons: 43,857
Thanks, Frosty. Lots of other things I'd like to know about GB too. Maybe a "Meanwhile in GB" thread here?

It is not the strongest of the species that survive, nor the most intelligent, but the one most responsive to change.
Romany
Posted: Saturday, January 13, 2018 11:28:46 AM

Neurons: 42,695
Why not?

Fire away Hope - there are probably enough Brits or living-in-Brits on the forum to cover questions about most things. Besides which - I'm still learning: I'd find it interesting too. (And maybe have some questions of my own!)
Y111
Posted: Saturday, January 13, 2018 1:19:50 PM

Neurons: 926
Hope123
Posted: Saturday, January 13, 2018 5:13:41 PM

Meh. I meant for Brits to post interesting stuff happening there locally. Since I've never been there, I wouldn't know what to ask. I would never have thought to ask about the items on Frosty's link.

Well, a couple of questions... Do the English, Irish, and Scottish still "fight" each other? i.e. dislike?

My brother just a couple of weeks ago said that when he was in Ireland last year and was buying a lovely Scottish wool sweater, the clerk assumed he was American but my brother said he is CDN. The clerk said, "Same thing". My brother nicely and matter-of-factly said, "Just like the English and Irish". Or was it Scottish? Anyhow, the clerk said nothing more. Can I assume they still all don't like each other?

Are woolen items still a big industry especially in Scotland? Do they really not wear underwear under kilts - you'd think the men would get cold in that climate. Maybe kilts are for dress up and only in summer? Is cannabis legal?