The Free Dictionary  
mailing list For webmasters
Welcome Guest Forum Search | Active Topics | Members

My EXPRESSION of the day Options
tunaafi
Posted: Monday, November 06, 2017 11:55:43 AM

Neurons: 53,498
almo 1 wrote:
Raul carried many things at once which exceeded his capacity.

So Mona said, "My dear friend, you are in over your head".

That is not natural in British English.
almo 1
Posted: Monday, November 06, 2017 12:32:00 PM

Neurons: 4,309
tunaafi wrote:
almo 1 wrote:
Raul carried many things at once which exceeded his capacity.

So Mona said, "My dear friend, you are in over your head".

That is not natural in British English.

Maybe that is Mona's style of saying regardless of BE or AE.

Or Mona was influenced by Robert Heinlein,
which is my impression,
though I am not an expert in Heinlein novels.

TheParser
Posted: Tuesday, November 07, 2017 6:05:10 AM

Neurons: 22,062
No. 49

Son: Should I marry Mona, Ruth, Betty, or Victoria? They all want me, of course!

Dad: Don't marry Ruth.

Son: Why not?

Dad: You know how she is.

Son: What do you mean?

Dad: She is always smiling, and she is always saying things like:

I love life, and life loves me.
I love everyone, and everyone loves me.
I never worry about anything because I know that everything will be OK.
If I lose my job, I will get a better one.
If I am sick and can't go to work, that means I can stay home and watch my favorite soap opera (daytime drama).
If it rains, that means I don't have to water my beautiful flowers. I can then spend more time cooking a delicious meal for my family.

Son: Oh, now I understand. Ruth is a Pollyanna.

Dad: That's right. If you marry her, she will drive you crazy!

Son: Thanks, Dad, for the advice.

Dad: That's what fathers are for!
Romany
Posted: Tuesday, November 07, 2017 6:49:55 AM

Neurons: 39,999

The above is the most twisted and tortured explanation possible - and I find it difficult to believe Parsar is even serious.